Ro-ma Ro-ma ma

By Katharine Pelican, Junior 

My name is Katharine Pelican and I am a currently a Junior Mathematics major here at The College of New Jersey. I chose to study abroad the summer after my sophomore year in Rome, Italy through the International Studies Abroad (ISA) Program. Having never studied abroad before, I chose Italy for many reasons. My grandpa, who died three years ago but whom I was extremely close to, was born in a small Tuscan town called Bientina.  Although I never studied the Italian language until my senior year of high school, I always felt very close to my Italian heritage because of my relationship with my grandpa. I decided to continue with Italian in college as a way of continuing my connection with my grandpa’s heritage. Also, I simply fell in love with the language.  I hoped that by studying abroad in Italy, I would become fluent in Italian and be able to communicate with my Italian relatives with greater ease.

 I was truly enamored with everything about Rome, Italy- from the food, to the people, to the beauty in each and every street corner. As a self-professed homebody, travelling across the Atlantic Ocean to live and study in a foreign country was a huge leap for me. Choosing to study abroad and step outside of my comfort zone is probably one of the best decisions that I have made, or will make, in college. I learned so much about myself throughout the experience, while simultaneously having the time of my life. I was able to learn about historic masterpieces and monuments, such as the Colosseum and the Vatican, on site during the day, and at night I was able to explore Roman nightlife with my all of my new friends. I was also fortunate enough to go on two included excursions – to Florence and Sorrento, where I was able to experience a taste of what other parts of Italy had to offer – literally and figuratively!

 I look back on my study abroad experience as one of the most exhilarating and enlightening endeavors that I have ever undertaken and ever since returning home, I have talked about my experience with enthusiasm to all of my friends and family. The five weeks that I spent in Rome this summer gave me such insight into life outside of my bubble in the United States and definitely made me a more well-rounded and worldly person. Since returning home, I have become a TCNJ Global Ambassador, in order to be able to share my enthusiasm for the amazing opportunity that is studying abroad with my peers in hopes that they too will decide to share in this once in a lifetime experience.

 I feel that at TCNJ, many people don’t choose to study abroad because they don’t know enough about it or don’t know where to turn for more information. I love that I have the unique opportunity to make information about the process and the experience more readily available, so that more students make the decision to participate and make lasting memories that will endure long after college ends.

Katherine is a Junior Mathematics major, looking back on her stay in Italy one of her favorite memories is running along the Famous Tiber River.

Leave a comment