What MY Sophomore Year Was Like: Kelly Hennessy

By Kelly Hennessy, Director of Residential Education

“If we don’t change, we don’t grow. If we don’t grow, we aren’t really living.” ~Gail Sheehy

 Hello Sophomores!  My name is Kelly Hennessy and I have just joined the TCNJ community a few short weeks ago as the Director of Residential Education.  Ultimately my goal is for all students that live on campus to live in an environment that helps them grow and develop as individuals.  The way Residential Education does this is by creating safe and healthy communities that engage students in learning, are student centered, and that appreciate each member’s uniqueness.  I am proud to say that the Sophomore Year Experience staff work hard to get to know every student, create environments that are reflective and engaging, and host programs and events that support students during their sophomore year.  I look forward to being a part of that community and welcome you to my office in Townhouse South 1 to meet me or share your experience with me.

I can remember back to my sophomore year at the University of Buffalo and how impactful is was on my future.  The University of Buffalo has two campuses about 5 miles apart.  During my 1st Year I lived on the Main Street Campus, in one of the smaller halls where everyone knew everyone.  We often made 2am runs to the grocery store across the street and stayed up all night building some of the best friendships.  Those 1st Year friends are still some of the best friends I have in my life.  However I also played lacrosse for UB, where practices were at 6am on the North Campus, 5 miles away.  One of my teammates and I decided to leave all of our 1st Year friends on the Main Street Campus and move to the North Campus for our sophomore year so getting to practice would be easier.  This would be the move, unbeknownst to me at the time that would place me on career path in student affairs. 

Moving campuses required me to switch jobs from working at the Main Street Campus Rec Center to becoming a Student Assistant in the Residence Life Office.  Working in the Residence Life office was a job that introduced me to a mentor, who still plays a role in my professional and educational life.  Working in the Residence Life Office during my sophomore year also opened doors for me to become a Resident Assistant, as well as a Peer Leader in the Leadership and Development office.   These opportunities introduce me to the world of student affairs.   My sophomore year proved to be a busy one with lacrosse, jobs, selecting a major, and visiting my friends on the Main Street Campus.  However, despite how busy it was, I continued to make lots and lots of new friends in my new residence hall, who equally became important people in my life.

It has been in those moments of change in my life where I have grown, learned and accomplished the most.  Sophomore year was no different.  Embrace the changes, the new opportunities, the new friends, new classes and living in the Sophomore Year Experience.   I wish you the best of luck during your sophomore year and hope that your experience living in our residence halls help you find areas that you are passionate about in the world and take strides towards those passions.   

 “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” ~Mohandas Gandhi

Kelly Hennessy is the Director of Residential Education at TCNJ. Her office is in Townhouse South 1.

 

1 Comment »

  1. Sean said

    Cool post. Who knew how impactful the sophomore year could be.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment